You have no items in your shopping cart.

Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.

Tuba Concerto

Click on image below to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Tuba Concerto

Composer: Martin Ellerby

Duration: 12.30

Series: Maecenas Instrumental Music


Quick Overview

Piano Reduction by the composer.

Originally for tuba and orchestra, the composer has made arrangements with Brass Band and Wind Band accompaniments. The piano score and solo part may be used in conjunction with any of them. The solo part is printed in both C Bass Clef and Eb Treble Clef.

Availability: In stock



My Tuba Concerto is in two contrasting movements which play without a break. The first part, Andante ma non troppo, displays the tuba's lyrical qualities with a constant development of the initial rhapsodic motif against varied textures in the accompaniment. This gradually leads into the second part, Allegro con brio, which exploits the soloist's agility with a toccata-like main idea. When this theme is augmented it develops into a contrastint lyrical second section. Eventually a cadenza is reached, though in 2002 at the request of the soloist James Gourlay, I added an optional extended unaccompanied passage (performers may play either at their discretion - both are included in the solo part)). The music then returns to its original mood. After a brief recapitulation, a short coda brings the piece to a sparkling close. The work is dedicatedd to the original soloist, Stephen Sykes.

- Martin Ellerby

Additional Information

Grade No
Grade Level N/A
  1. Be the first to review this product

Write Your Own Review