You have no items in your shopping cart.

Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.

Music: The Sound of Hope

Click on image below to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Music: The Sound of Hope

SKU: 26199

Quick Overview

Music: The Sound of Hope is a star-studded DVD produced by Clarence Adoo. It is a 'feelgood' DVD that really shows just how Clarence gets on with life despite his horrific car accident in 1995 which left him paralysed from the neck down. But it is not primarily about Clarence; it is about music and features a star-studded array of musicians including Sting, Sir Cliff Richard, Jools Holland, Courtney Pine, Dame Evelyn Glennie, Dr John Rutter and Headspace Ensemble.

Is music merely a comforting soundtrack to our lives or is it capable of becoming much more than that; a force for good, an agent of change, a source of hope? Clarence Adoo takes you on an enlightening and stimulating journey, revealing his personal, moving experiences of the power of music which carried him from a near-death experience to becoming a motivated, inspirational man with the help of his amazing world-renowned musician friends.

In this DVD Clarence asks musician friends what music means to them. Included among them are Sir Cliff Richard, Jools Holland, Dame Evelyn Glennie, Wynton Marsalis, John Rutter and Courtney Pine, in whose jazz band Clarence played for five years.

Interspersed with the interviews are performances by the interviewees and Sting, Black Dyke Band, Amandla Esandla, blind pianist Derek Paravicini, Headspace Ensemble (in which Clarence plays an electronic instrument invented for him), Cambridge Singers, Philip Cobb and Philip Jones Brass Ensemble. Of note are two pieces, both performed with The International Staff Band of The Salvation Army (ISB). The first is the march 'Shoeburyness' dedicated to the Salvation Army corps where Clarence grew up. It was written by Eiliv Herikstad at Clarence's request. Clarence conducts this piece. The other piece is thanks to technical wizardry, a sound recording of Clarence playing a cornet solo 'On the Golden Shore' in the Royal Albert Hall in the 1980s is matched to the accompaniment of the present day ISB.

If you like music, this DVD for you. As a bonus, there is a free CD with the music from the DVD so you can listen to it in the car.

All proceeds from this DVD go to The Clarence Adoo Trust. For more information visit

Availability: In stock



The DVD includes Sting; Sir Cliff Richard; Jools Holland; Courtney Pine; Derek Paravicini; Dame Evelyn Glennie; Amandla Esandla; Dr John Rutter; Clarence with ISB; Philip Cobb with ISB; Wynton Marsalis; Headspace Ensemble with Clarence; ISB; Dr Nick Childs with the Black Dyke Band.

The CD tracks are:

1 Fragile Sting
2 Bumble Bee Boogie Jools Holland
3 Le Matin est Noire Courtney Pine
4 I Saw Three Ships Derek Paravicini
5 Prim Evelyn Glennie
6 Restless Evelyn Glennie
7 Mingo Amandla Esandla
8 Open Thou Mine Eyes Cambridge Singers
9 On the Golden Shore Clarence Adoo with The International Staff Band
10 Flourish Philip Cobb with The International Staff Band
11 Repton Wynton Marsalis
12 Over in the Glory Land Wynton Marsalis
13 Headspace Headspace Ensemble
14 Shoeburyness March ISB
15 Deep Harmony Black Dyke Band
16 Gloria Cambridge Singers with the Philip Jones Brass Ensemble
  1. Be the first to review this product

Write Your Own Review