You have no items in your shopping cart.

Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.

Music for Brass Septet

Click on image below to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Music for Brass Septet

Artist: Septura

SKU: 25431

Catalogue Number: 8573314

Quick Overview

What if four celebrated nineteenth-century composers - Mendelssohn, Schumann, Bruckner and Brahms - had written original works for brass septet? This disc explores that fascinating counterfactual twist, re-imagining choral and organ works by those composers. The arrangements call on the full dynamic and tonal range of the instruments - often extended with a multitude of mutes - to imitate the expressivity of the choir, the power of the organ, and the versatile sonorities of its different registrations and manuals. In dazzling and varied combinations the arrangers and performers together persuade us that this could indeed be original brass chamber music.

Availability: In stock



1-4 Organ Sonata in C minor, Op. 65, No. 2 Mendelssohn arr. Simon Cox Septura 8.52
5-8 Vier doppelchörige Gesänge, Op. 141 Schuman arr. Simon Cox Septura 12.46
9-13 Five Chorale Preludes (from Op. 122) Brahms arr. Simon Cox Septura 12.31
14 Geistliches Lied, Op. 30 Brahms arr. Matthew Knight Septura 4.21
15-16 Two Aequali Bruckner Septura 2.50
17-20 Four Motets Bruckner arr. Various Septura 15.16

Additional Information

Release Date 17 Apr 2015
Custom Image URL N/A
  1. Be the first to review this product

Write Your Own Review