You have no items in your shopping cart.

Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.


Click on image below to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views


Artist: Les Neish

SKU: 25138-group

Catalogue Number: DOY CD274

Quick Overview

"Proof that the tuba, the comedian of the orchestra, is a credible solo instrument abounds in the brilliance of Neish." Phil Sommerich (Classical Music magazine)

"A world class, state of the art tubist and a superb musician" Roger Bobo (Conductor and brass legend)

Les Neish is one of the leading tuba players of his generation. His endeavours have gained him recognition as a soloist, chamber musician and educator throughout the world. His career has been extremely diverse with highlights including a performance in Millennium Park, Chicago and an appearance on Sting's album If On a Winter's Night...!  

He gained a First Class Honours degree, Professional Performance Diploma and Postgraduate Diploma with Distinction from the Royal Northern College of Music and, following graduation, was taken onto the RNCM staff as a chamber music coach and tuba tutor in the Junior School. He was the first ever tuba player to be awarded the Worshipful Company of Dyers Award for Wind and Brass at the Royal Overseas League Competition and he gave the first solo tuba recital at The Bridgewater Hall Manchester.

His debut solo CD Salt of the Earth received great critical acclaim, winning Solo CD of the Year awards from British Bandsman and Brass Band World magazines and from and receiving airtime on BBC National Radio. 

The title of this, his second, solo CD comes from a concerto written for Les by Peter Meechan, Shine being an anagram of his surname. The World Premiere performance was given by Les and Grimethorpe Colliery Band at the Royal Northern College of Music Festival of Brass in January 2011.

To purchase individual tracks from this album, please select your desired file type.

Product Name Price Qty


Shine - CD


Shine - Full Album (FLAC)


Shine - Full Album (mp3)

Availability: In stock


1 Concert Etude Alexander Goedicke Les Neish (Tuba) with Martyn Parkes (Piano) 3.17
2 Sicilienne Fritz Kreisler Les Neish (Tuba) with Martyn Parkes (Piano) 3.30
3 Rigaudon Fritz Kreisler Les Neish (Tuba) with Martyn Parkes (Piano) 2.24
4 Capriccio Rodney Newton Les Neish (Tuba) with Wingates Band 9.49
5 Song for the Skies Paul Lovatt-Cooper Les Neish (Tuba) with Wingates Band 4.23
6 Floating Dreams Peter Meechan Les Neish (Tuba) with CD 5.43
  Concertino for Tuba and Piano Evzen Zamecnik Les Neish (Tuba) with Martyn Parkes (Pianoforte)  
7 I. Preludio     5.01
8 II. Canzona I     5.06
9 III. Quasi Danza     1.19
10 IV. Canzona II     3.49
11 V. Finale     2.19
12 And Everything is Still Andy Scott Les Neish (Tuba) with Martyn Parkes (Pianoforte) 3.41
  Shine Peter Meechan Les Neish (Tuba) with Wingates Band  
13 I.     3.55
14 II.     3.14
15 III.     4.00
16 The Prayer Carole Bayer Sager and David Foster arr. Luc Vertommen Les Neish (Tuba) and David Thornton (Euphonium) with Wingates Band 4.59

Additional Information

Release Date 30 Sep 2011
Custom Image URL No
  1. Be the first to review this product

Write Your Own Review