You have no items in your shopping cart.

Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.

Classically Enfield

Click on image below to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Classically Enfield

Artist: Enfield Citadel Band

SKU: 21382-group

Catalogue Number: SPS 256CD

Quick Overview

The Salvation Army has embraced wholeheartedly the use of classical art music. In initial efforts, arrangers wedded famous operatic tunes to sacred texts.

It is generally recognised that Richard Slater held the torch for the use of the classics as an edifying, enriching and refining tool in the growth of Salvation Army Bands. He soon expanded the options for bands to include medleys, the range of composers and sources used indicating a man well versed in operatic, chamber and symphonic literature. Bramwell Coles' famous Moments with Tchaikovsky and Treasures from Tchaikovsky led Salvation Army Bands music towards portions of symphonic or absolute music. This naturally provided more challenging musical experiences, an aspect that intensified after World War II.

Fortuitously, this recording appears in 2009, just as notable anniversaries for composers profiled on this recording are celebrated: Handel 250th (1685-1759), Haydn 200th (1732-1809) and Mendelssohn 200th (1809-1847). The choice of repertoire on this recording provides an excellent overview of the repertoire Salvationist transcribers have provided Salvation Army Bands since World War I. Each succeeding generation has uncovered, and then reshaped, many 'thoughts', 'gems' and 'treasures'.

To purchase individual tracks from this album, please select your desired file type.

Product Name Price Qty

Classically Enfield

Classically Enfield - CD

Classically Enfield

Classically Enfield - Full Album (FLAC)

Classically Enfield

Classically Enfield - Full Album (mp3)

Availability: In stock


1 Fanfare 'La Peri' Paul Dukas arr. Richard E Holz Enfield Citadel Band 2.05
2 War March of the Priests Felix Mendelssohn arr. Frederick Hawkes Enfield Citadel Band 4.38
3 Come, Sweet Death J S Bach arr. Erik Leidzén edt. R W Holz Enfield Citadel Band 3.22
4 Overture to The Magic Flute Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart arr. Michael Kenyon Enfield Citadel Band 7.29
5 Queen of the Night's Aria Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart arr. Andrew Blyth Christopher Deacon (Piccolo Trumpet) with Enfield Citadel Band 2.42
6 Morceau Symphonique (Concert Piece) Alexandre Guilmant arr. Ray Steadman-Allen Dudley Bright (Trombone) with Enfield Citadel Band 6.02
7 Poem Zdenek Fibich arr. Ray Steadman-Allen Enfield Citadel Band 3.33
8 Overture to Beatrice and Benedict Hector Berlioz arr. Keith Wilkinson Enfield Citadel Band 8.07
9 Lend Me Your Aid Charles Gounod arr. George Marshall Dudley Bright (Trombone) with Enfield Citadel Band 5.56
  Themes from the 'New World' Symphony Antonín Dvorak arr. Ray Steadman-Allen Enfield Citadel Band  
10 I. Adagio - Allegro molto     4.48
11 II. Largo     4.11
12 III. Molto vivace     1.17
13 IV. Allegro con fuoco     6.08
  Trumpet Concerto in Eb Franz Joseph Haydn arr. Ray Steadman-Allen Christopher Deacon (Trumpet) with Enfield Citadel Band  
14 Movement II     3.37
15 Movement III     4.19
16 Sound an Alarm George Frideric Handel arr. Frederick Hawkes Dudley Bright (Trombone) with Enfield Citadel Band 3.46
17 Hallelujah Chorus George Frideric Handel arr. Arthur Goldsmith Enfield Citadel Band 4.04

Additional Information

Release Date 16 Oct 2009
Custom Image URL No
  1. Be the first to review this product

Write Your Own Review