You have no items in your shopping cart.

Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.

WOB 18

Click on image below to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

WOB 18

SKU: 100388

Catalogue Number: WOB 200CD

Quick Overview

WOB 18 is a compilation of highlight tracks from brass recordings released during the past 12 months on the Doyen and SP&S labels.

Our selections are a representative choice of test-pieces, concert items and solo performances from some of the very best in brass. This CD features nine different bands together with solos from Principal Trombone of Black Dyke Band, Brett Baker; Principal Cornet of Boscombe Band of The Salvation Army, Craig Snell and Flugel Horn of Black Dyke Band, Zoe Hancock.

Availability: In stock



1 Call of the Gospel Bellshill Salvation Army Band Immeasurable
2-4 A Wartime Sketchbook Brighouse & Rastrick Band Bolero
i. Prologue    
ii. Bicycle Chase    
iii. Refugees    
5 Trombone Time Trombone Soloist Brett Baker with Black Dyke Band Contrasts
6 Here is the Place The Household Troops Band For the World
7 The Victory Cry! Cornet Soloist Craig Snell with Boscombe Band An Easter Tale
8 A Winter's Tale Black Dyke Band Christmas Collection
9 Dark Abyss Eikanger-Bjorsvik Musikklag Highlights from EBBC 2018
10 What a Wonderful Day The International Staff Band Endeavour... A Weekend with the ISB
11 The Seal Lullaby Flugel Horn Soloist Zoe Hancock with Black Dyke Band Black Dyke Gold Volume 7
12 Music-Maker The International Staff Band Larsson in Brass
13 Gota Manger Musikklag December
14 Gallery Brighouse & Rastrick Band The Nationals 2017
15 The Four Seasons Cory Band The Art of Brass

Additional Information

Release Date 4 Oct 2018
Custom Image URL N/A
  1. Brass Band World Issue 279 review by Thomas Dunne on 14/12/2018

    Several Salvation Army bands make stellar contributions throughout the CD, including Belshill's lively 'Call of the Gospel'. Brett Baker's premiere recording of Kenneth Downie's 'Trombone Time' provides an energetic and light-hearted concert item, whist Black Dyke's flugel soloist, Zoe Hancock, delivers a simply beautiful rendition of Eric Whitacre's popular 'The Seal Lullaby'.
    In terms of sheer impact, however, nothing stands out quite as much as Brighouse & Rastrick's live performance of Howard Snell's 'Gallery' from The Nationals 2017 recording. The quality of both the composition and the degree of passion in the performance make this the icing on the cake of an enjoyably varied compilation disc from World of Brass.

Write Your Own Review